“A pile of Revenue I create, but I guess I don’t get a cut ’cause my rent’s a month late!” – Pos D Nuos, De La Soul (I Am I Be, Buhloone Mindstate, 1993)

Do you feel overworked and underpaid?Would your value still be the same if you were providing your services as an individual, outside of your employers umbrella and brand? Would you be able to generate the same amount of revenue if you had to find your own clients and use your own resources?

Most of us feel undervalued, especially when it comes to remuneration, we could always do with more; whereas, the employer would almost always want to pay less for your labour.

If you feel undervalued at your workplace you need to take action. Below, I discuss a few steps that you can take to ensure your full value is recognized.

  1. Set up a meeting with the relevant manager/director for your salary and promotion negotiation (it’s imperative that you do some research on how to negotiate of an increase).
  2. Should there be no room for negotiation, create a CV that highlights your best qualities concisely and find a recruitment agency that believes in you and will sell you for the value you feel your work is worth.
  3. Have a passion that can earn you extra money? Start investing time in yourself and what makes you happy, get home and work on that business that you’ve been daydreaming about all these years. The fulfillment from this will contribute to your productivity and happiness at work.
  4. Save, Save, Save. If you don’t save at least 20% of your salary monthly, you need to create a situation where you do, this will create financial freedom allowing you to have room to breathe and think about what’s important to you. NB, if you have debts, pay those off first before you start saving.

Manqoba Kubheka CA(SA)

#MyFinances #SavingMoney #SpendingWisely #Work #Jobs #Careers

Listen to De La Soul’s –Β I Am I BeΒ here:

I Am I Be – De La Soul